The 8 hour summer loaf

What to do when you want to make a fresh loaf of bread but don’t exactly have 2 hours for your standby or 12+ for the Sullivan St. Bakery Loaf? Search, modify and pray.

I came across this version of the popular NY Times/Bittman/Sullivan St/ Etc. recipe when looking for a quicker variation. I don’t mind kneading my bread, but going right to a get together after work doesn’t leave much time for dough and otherwise I would need to be in my rise stage by 5 AM to get the correct rise, second rise and bake time for the BBQ.

So I prepped in the morning before leaving for work and let the dough rise all day in the warmth of the summer in my kitchen. When I got home I punched it down, rolled in flour and threw it in the dutch oven in the hot oven and hoped for the best.

So what goes best with fresh burrata and balsamic? Warm, crunchy, summer bread. I think this dough really is no fail. You can do anything to it and it will still come together and make the most delicious bread. This truly went from an all day affair to a weeknight meal accent.

Sources:

Simply So Good : Crusty Bread

NYTimes: No Knead Bread

 

 

Leave a comment